Image

Μαγειρείο “Η Συκαμινιά”


As I entered through the labyrinthine back entrance, conveniently located next to my current workplace, a series of questions ran through my head. So this is what the guts of a restaurant look like, I thought. Whisky, retsina (a type of Greek wine), and brandy were all present there. Then things turned stranger – uniforms, a broom cupboard that seemed to be under the stairs. Am I even supposed to be here? Thankfully, the maze led to out to the dazzling sunlight, where, after momentary disorientation, I quickly entered the air-conditioned interior.

Now, I must stress the atmosphere as I entered. The place is bulging with people (who, magically, all seem to be well-dressed and always come in groups) who continuously talk and laugh and occasionally even belch. As I entered, I was met by a smiling waiter (who, in my very humble opinion, is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure to meet) who took me to what seemed to be the only empty table in the restaurant. The table has very clean tablecloth (made out of durable paper) and the decor evokes a traditional, cozy feel.

I quickly ordered a salad, which was promptly brought to my table with, I am glad to say, plenty of feta and even some traditional greens (namely, rocket and “γλυστηρίδα”). I cut up some onion, doused the salad with vinegar and a splash of olive oil, and dived in. Here, I shall give the highest praise I can: this salad surpassed both my mother’s and grandmother’s. Truly, this is a dish worthy of a king. I feel compelled to mention that a big hunk of the very fresh traditional bread accompanies the salad, perfect for mopping up the juices.

After some minutes, a mountainous heap appeared before me: this was my food. The first thing I noticed was a warm, juicy, soft, and all-round mouth-watering grilled chicken breast. Then a gigantic pile of fries (a couple fell out as the waiter was walking over). Although not exactly the best, these, (literally) taken with a pinch of salt, served as the carb accompaniment. And, finally, “πουργούρι” (think a pilaf) took up at least half the plate. Now, as my friends will tell you, I have a pretty healthy appetite, but I couldn’t even try this item. Thankfully, they do take-away.

But the best was yet to come: all this, plus a Fanta, cost just €9. What can I say? All-round, hands-down the best restaurant I’ve been to in Limassol, or all of Cyprus for that matter.

