Lemongrass Express


Yesterday we went to Dubai Mall next to the Burj Khalifa, the tallest building in the world. It has over 1200 shops to choose from (or so the marketing team boasts), but today I had a singular purpose: food. You see, I had just spent an entire morning exhausting myself at a swim meet (photos – maybe – forthcoming), and I was starving. The food court there is gigantic. The usual suspects are all present – Burger King, McDonald’s, even Charley’s Grilled Subs, but there are more interesting restaurants as well. Today I went to a restaurant that we’ve visited several times – Lemongrass Express. Great food, overall. This is a special deal they offer – a main, drink, skewer, and a spring roll for AED 37 (about $10). I opted for an additional Tom Yum Soup, which will set you back a whopping AED 14. This turned out to be a mistake, as I could not finish it, especially as it was a touch too spicy. The main was slightly spicy, but not enough so that the other flavors are overpowered. The tender chicken breasts were lightly basted with a slightly sweet and utterly finger-licking good cashew sauce. The rice was good, but the most interesting items were the starters. The spring rolls were great: they were crisp on the outside, and when that flaky crust crunches flavor bursts into your mouth. It was hot, full of fresh vegetables, and most importantly not greasy. The skewers had very distinct and memorable flavors: they were delicious and not something you would find every day. One of them was a chicken in a tofu crust (sounds disgusting, doesn’t it?) while the other was prawn and chicken blended with coriander and spices, all lightly battered and fried. Although they were not the most appealing items on the outset, they actually tasted pretty good. Overall, it offers very good food in large portions at great prices. Have I got you salivating yet?

P.S. I’d love to hear from my readers – how do you like my reviews? Have you had any experiences with these restaurants?

